LibGuides: Public Health: Databases

Databases

Library Databases
Free Databases

MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's index to more than 5,000 biomedical journals, covering clinical medicine, dentistry, healthcare administration, nursing, nutrition, pathology, psychiatry, toxicology, and veterinary medicine. Coverage dates from the 1950s to present and is international in scope.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
The National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it contains plain-language information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. MedlinePlus offers free, reliable, and up-to-date health information. Includes patient handouts in English and Spanish.

Global Library of Women's Medicine
is an open-access database designed to support clinicians with the latest therapeutic options in women's health care.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
TOXLINE
TOXLINE is a bibliographic database with an assortment of citations from specialized journals and other sources. It provides references covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Most of TOXLINE's bibliographic citations contain abstracts and/or indexing terms and Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) Registry Numbers.

Topic Suggestions

Helping...

Here are suggested topics to use as your search the databases. It may be wise to add some of these terms to your topic search with AND to make sure you find public health articles.

health beliefs health behavior

health policy health knowledge

public health health education

environmental health epidemiology

epidemiologic factors