LibGuides: APA 7th Edition: Changes from 6th to 7th

Updated APA

As of Fall 2020, Nebraska Methodist College uses the 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association's publication manual.

Due to limited availability in the library and frequent usage, it is highly recommended that students purchase their own manual (Amazon, campus bookstore, Barnes & Noble, etc.). The ebook version is also available from APA's store.

Changes from APA 6th to 7th
Cheat sheet for the major changes between editions.

Changes by Category

Note: Full-text citations will need the hanging indent. Examples below do not.

Authors

Sixth Edition	Seventh Edition
In-Text 3-5 Authors List all authors in the signal phrase (first time the source is referenced). Then use (Author et al., 2003) in subsequent references. (Smith, Johnson, Nauri, & Jones, 2018, p. 43) then (Smith et al., 2018, p. 44) 6+ Authors Use the first author's last name followed by et al. in the first and subsequent in-text references.	In-Text 3+ Authors List the first author, followed by "et al." So an article written by Jones, Narubi, and Esposito would be referenced like this: Jones et al. (2018) studied the effects of ... or (Jones et al., 2018, p. 12)
Sources with multiple authors - REFERENCE LIST 3-7 Authors List all authors by last name and initials. Kernis, M. H., Cornell, D. P., Sun, C. R., Berry, A., Harlow, T., & Bach, J. S. (1993). There's more to self-esteem than whether it is high or low: The importance of stability of self-esteem. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 65, 1190-1204. More Than 7 Authors List the first six authors, then use an ellipsis in place of the subsequent authors’ names, then provide the last author’s name. Use no more than 7 names in the citation. Miller, F. H., Choi, M. J., Angeli, L. L., Harland, A. A., Stamos, J. A.,Thomas, S. T., . . . Rubin, L. H. (2009). Web site usability for the blind and low-vision user. Technical Communication, 57, 323-335.	Articles with multiple authors – REFERENCE LIST 1-20 Authors List all authors, up to 20. After the 20^th author, use ellipsis and then list the last author. This is an extension of the 7+ rule.

Sixth Edition

Seventh Edition

In-Text

3-5 Authors

List all authors in the signal phrase (first time the source is referenced). Then use (Author et al., 2003) in subsequent references.

(Smith, Johnson, Nauri, & Jones, 2018, p. 43)

then

(Smith et al., 2018, p. 44)

6+ Authors

Use the first author's last name followed by et al. in the first and subsequent in-text references.

In-Text

3+ Authors

List the first author, followed by "et al." So an article written by Jones, Narubi, and Esposito would be referenced like this:

Jones et al. (2018) studied the effects of ...

(Jones et al., 2018, p. 12)

Sources with multiple authors - REFERENCE LIST

3-7 Authors

List all authors by last name and initials.

Kernis, M. H., Cornell, D. P., Sun, C. R., Berry, A., Harlow, T., & Bach, J. S. (1993). There's more to self-esteem than whether it is high or low: The importance of stability of self-esteem. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 65, 1190-1204.

More Than 7 Authors

List the first six authors, then use an ellipsis in place of the subsequent authors’ names, then provide the last author’s name. Use no more than 7 names in the citation.

Miller, F. H., Choi, M. J., Angeli, L. L., Harland, A. A., Stamos, J. A.,Thomas, S. T., . . . Rubin, L. H. (2009). Web site usability for the blind and low-vision user. Technical Communication, 57, 323-335.

Articles with multiple authors – REFERENCE LIST

1-20 Authors

List all authors, up to 20. After the 20^th author, use ellipsis and then list the last author. This is an extension of the 7+ rule.

Journal Articles

Sixth Edition	Seventh Edition
Include issue number if journal is paginated by issue Journals that are paginated by issue (each issues begins with page one) requires the issue number to be included in parentheses in the citation: Goodman, X., Watts, J., Arenas, R., Weigel, R., & Terrell, T. (2018). Applying an information literacy rubric to first-year health sciences student research posters. Journal of the Medical Library Association, 106(1), 108–112. Journals paginated by volume A journal that begins pagination of a volume with the first issue and carries it through each subsequent issue (issue 1 has pages 1-56, issue two has pages 57-103, etc.) is not required to include the issue in the citation.	Include issue number in all journal citations All journal citations should include the issue number.
Articles with DOI The DOI should appear as it does on the source itself. Examples: doi:0000000/000000000000 or https://doi.org/10.0000/0000 Full citation: Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161	Articles with DOI DOIs now follow the https:// format: https://doi.org/10.0000/0000
Article without a DOI (non-database link) Use the article URL or the journal home page, preceded by Retrieved from … Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number if available). Retrieved from https://www.journalhomepage.com/full/url/	Article without a DOI (non-database link) Place the non-database URL at the end of the citation (*no Retrieved from):* Khawaja, N.G., Chan, S., & Stein, G. (2017). The relationship between second language anxiety and international nursing students stress. Journal of International Students, 7(3), 601-620. https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/EJ1140540.pdf
Hyperlinks, URLs, and DOI URLS and DOIs included on reference page in text-only format (not hypoerlinked). Remove hyperlink (blue/underlined) from document if Word autoformats the URL. In a citation, source links begin with "Retrieved from http:// ...."	Hyperlinks, URLs, and DOI URLS and DOIs can now be hyperlinked in the document. Plain text is also allowed. Ask your instructors. Retrieved from is eliminated Shortened URLs are allowed. However, the academic community believes this is a bad idea due to potential instability, misuse, and citation exploitation.

Sixth Edition

Seventh Edition

Include issue number if journal is paginated by issue

Journals that are paginated by issue (each issues begins with page one) requires the issue number to be included in parentheses in the citation:

Goodman, X., Watts, J., Arenas, R., Weigel, R., & Terrell, T. (2018). Applying an information literacy rubric to first-year health sciences student research posters. Journal of the Medical Library Association, 106(1), 108–112.

Journals paginated by volume

A journal that begins pagination of a volume with the first issue and carries it through each subsequent issue (issue 1 has pages 1-56, issue two has pages 57-103, etc.) is not required to include the issue in the citation.

Include issue number in all journal citations

All journal citations should include the issue number.

Articles with DOI

The DOI should appear as it does on the source itself. Examples:

doi:0000000/000000000000

https://doi.org/10.0000/0000

Full citation:

Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161

Articles with DOI

DOIs now follow the https:// format:

https://doi.org/10.0000/0000

Article without a DOI (non-database link)

Use the article URL or the journal home page, preceded by Retrieved from …

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number if available). Retrieved from https://www.journalhomepage.com/full/url/

Article without a DOI (non-database link)

Place the non-database URL at the end of the citation (no Retrieved from):

Khawaja, N.G., Chan, S., & Stein, G. (2017). The relationship between second language anxiety and international nursing students stress. Journal of International Students, 7(3), 601-620. https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/EJ1140540.pdf

Hyperlinks, URLs, and DOI

URLS and DOIs included on reference page in text-only format (not hypoerlinked). Remove hyperlink (blue/underlined) from document if Word autoformats the URL.

In a citation, source links begin with "Retrieved from http:// ...."

Hyperlinks, URLs, and DOI

URLS and DOIs can now be hyperlinked in the document. Plain text is also allowed. Ask your instructors.

Retrieved from is eliminated

Shortened URLs are allowed. However, the academic community believes this is a bad idea due to potential instability, misuse, and citation exploitation.

Books

Sixth Edition

Seventh Edition

Publisher location

Include the publisher's location before the company's name:

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle. Location: Publisher.

Multiple publishers listed

Only list the first publisher and location.

Publisher location no longer included

The publisher’s city is no longer included.

Almarode, J., & Vandas, K. (2019). Clarity for learning: Five essential practices that empower students and teachers. Corwin.

Corwin is the publisher.

Multiple publishers listed

List each publisher, separated by a semi-colon.

Jones, N.E. (2019). The amazing book of citations. American Psychological Association; De Gruyter Mouton; Basic Books.

eBooks & Audiobooks

List type of ebook in brackets (PDF, Kindle, etc.)

List audiobook in brackets.

eBooks & Audiobooks

Ebooks no longer require the type of ebook listed (Kindle, PDF, etc.). However, you do list audiobook format.

Rowling, J.K. (2015). Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. Pottermore Publishing. https://www.amazon.com/ dp/B0192CTMUU/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_U_TAWTDb0RFGCNY

Rowling, J.K. (2015). Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. [Audiobook]. Pottermore Publishing. http:// shorturl.at/vwJWY

6th edition

Running head, page number, title, author and school affiliation.

undefined

7th edition

No running head, page number, additional information (department, class, instructor, due date).

undefined

Changes in Paper Formatting

Old Way	New Way
Running head and page number	Student papers do not require a running head (page number only) unless otherwise instructed.
Times New Roman, 12 pt font	Acceptable fonts include: Times New Roman 12pt, Calibri 11 pt, Arial 11 pt, Lucida Sans Unicode 10pt, and Georgia 11 pt
Double-space after end-sentence punctuation	Single space after end-sentence punctuation
Heading Levels Level 3 - Indented, bold, lowercase ending with a period. Text continues on same line. Level 4 - *Indented, bold, italicized, lowercase with period.* Text continues on same line. Level 5 - Indented, italicized, ends with period. Text continues.	Level 3 - *Flush left, bold, italic, Title Case Heading* Text starts a new paragraph. Level 4 – Indented, bold, Title Case Heading Ending With a Period. Text starts on same line. Level 5 – Indented, bold, italic, Title Case Heading Ending With a Period. Text starts on same line.
Use he or she for singular pronouns.	They can now be used in the singular. Use if a person’s gender is unknown or irrelevant and instead of “he or she”; or use if the subject identifies themselves with "they."
Use italics to highlight linguistic examples: Press the F key ...	Use quotation marks: Press the "F" key ...

These changes are for the Student paper format.