Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

John Moritz Library @ NMC: About

Library Hours

Spring Semester 2022

(All times are in CDT):

   Monday         8 A.M. - 4:00 P.M.
   Tuesday        A.M. - 4:00 P.M.
   Wednesday   8 A.M. - 4:00 P.M.
   Thursday       8 A.M. - 4:00 P.M.
   Friday            8 A.M. - 4:00 P.M. 

Alumni Resources

Alumni are not eligible for database access due to licensing and NMHS login restrictions. You may be able to check out a book from our collection.

JML's license agreements with vendors and publishers prohibit off-campus access to alumni. However, there are other outlets for access to books, databases, and journals.

Investigate the following:

Your employer:

  • Hospital or medical center - Most have libraries, though they might not be in a physical space.
  • Physician's practice - Hospitals for which the practice has admitting privileges might offer library services to the physician's nursing staff.
  • College or university - Might offer many of the same databases, resources, and services as JML.
  • Government - Some government agencies have libraries.
  • Corporate - Some large companies have libraries.

If you do not have library access through your employer: 

  • Use the free resources linked below.
  • Contact hospital libraries in your area and inquire about library services to community healthcare professionals.
  • Use your local public library, especially for interlibrary loan services.

These databases are free to the public.

About the Library

Our physical space is currently in transition, but librarians are available to assist you virtually. The library serves all NMC students, faculty, and staff. This page contains information on accessing and borrowing JML resources, our mission and policies.

Borrowing Privileges:

Students, faculty, staff, and alumni of Nebraska Methodist College (NMC) have borrowing privileges at John Moritz Library (JML). Off-campus database access is available to NMC students, faculty, and staff and NMHS employees. 

Limits:

No more than three items from one subject area can be borrowed at the same time.

Overdue Items:

We do not collect fines on overdue items; however, you may not check out or renew other items until overdue items have been returned.

Replacement Fees:

Every borrower is responsible for library materials checked out in his/her name. Borrowers are billed replacement costs for lost, damaged, or unreturned items to the library plus a $10 processing fee. Bills are sent approximately 90 days after an item is due. The NMC Business Office is notified of outstanding bills and a block will be placed on a students account.

Recall:

All checked out resources are subject to recall after the initial loan period. Items needed for course reserves or clinical support are subject to recall at any time.

Loan Periods & Renewals:

Format

Checkout Period

Renewal

Books

2 weeks

 One 2-week renewal

Equipment

4 hours

 No renewal

Course reserves

2 hours

 No renewal

Journals

Library use only

 n/a

Reference books

Library use only

 n/a

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

The John Moritz Library Catalog can be used to determine what books the library has in the collection on campus. The catalog can be searched by author, title, or subject. If the library owns the book, you may place a hold on that item. You can also access your library account through the catalog to renew any items that you have checked out.

F.A.Q. Searching catalog, placing holds, and renewing materials.

Computers

The library computer is dedicated for NMC students engaged in academic work. When using the computer, please do not:

  • Engage in any illegal or offensive activity.
  • Leave a computer logged into your profile.
  • Make noise that disrupts those around you.
  • Consume food or beverages at workstation. 

This workstation is locked to prevent downloading or installing programs. The USB drive is disabled; however, attempting to insert and open a file may encrypt your device. Neither the library nor the college is responsible for corrupted or lost files. 

 

 

 

 

NMC uses PaperCut to print from any of the public computers in the Clark 2nd floor engagement area, the study rooms, and the library. The default printer options for your location are preloaded. After printing from the computer, the document/s will be waiting for you to release at the printer. Please see the various sections below on how you print at NMC.

 - METHODISTHOLDQUEUE will no longer work an option for printing.

 - There is no option to print from your iPad or non-NMC computers.

 The copier only prints and copies in black/white, but you can scan to email in color.  There are two b/w multifunction copiers located on the second floor in the Office of Student Engagement, one outside the library and the other is adjacent to the advisor's suite.  If you do need to print in color stop by the Clark Reception area in the lobby to request this service. 

Adding a Funds

Requesting Refund

Releasing Printout

If there are any issues or questions pertaining to printing, please email nmchelp@methodistcollege.edu or call Ed Tech 402-354-7008.
  During evening/weekend hours, please call the NMHS IT Service Desk at 402-354-2280.

Need assistance with MyMethodist, NMC campus computers or printers?

Call 402-354-7008  Mon- Friday 8AM-5PM 

E-mail nmchelp@methodistcollege.edu

E-mail for assistance anytime including evening & weekends.

If it is not an emergency you may not receive a response the same day. 



The Educational Technology (Ed. Tech.) department of Nebraska Methodist College is not to be confused with I.T. as they only support NMC in specific areas of technology. The Nebraska Methodist Health System is a full service InformationTechonology department that supports the entire health system's network including the students at NMC.

For assistance with your log-in contact NMHS IT Help Desk 402-354-2280

  Mon. - Th. 6:30 am - 6 pm | Friday 6:30 am - 5 pm | Saturday 7 am - 1 pm

Mission

The central role of John Moritz Library is to support the teaching, learning, and research of students and faculty in health care education at Nebraska Methodist College (NMC).  We seek to ensure that the information needs of students, faculty, and other library users from the health system are satisfied through a current collection of library resources and quality services. Through a commitment to the core values of learning, excellence, caring, respect, and holism, the library staff seeks to ensure academic and service excellence.

Profile Photo
NMC Library
Contact:
402-354-7251