LibGuides: Evidence-Based Practice: Sources of Evidence

Databases

The volume of clinical literature is huge. The National Library of Medicine reports that in 2015 alone, more than 806,000 references were added to the MEDLINE database. Databases such as those recommended here are among the academic tools we use to find practice guidelines, systematic reviews, research articles, and other information related to evidence-based practice.

CINAHL
Cumulative Index of Nursing & Allied Health Literature

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews and protocols prepared and updated by the Cochrane Collaboration review groups on the effects of health care.
Licensed resource.

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Indexes RCTs, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Includes citation details, abstracts, and links to full text where available. Produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy.
more...less...
Free resource.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Abstracts of economic evaluations, covering the costs and effects of drugs, treatments, and procedures.
more...less...
Licensed resource.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.
Licensed resource.
Cochrane Methodology Register This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of publications that report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials.
Licensed resource.

Critically Appraised Studies

Some journals consist solely of articles that critically appraise and assess the scientific merit of individual research studies.

Evidence-Based Nursing
Published by BMJ
Assesses the clinical relevance and rigor of studies relevant to best nursing practice
ACP Journal Club
Published by the American College of Physicians
Summarizes the best new evidence from more than 130 clinical journals
Assesses the literature's scientific merit and clinical relevance