LibGuides: John Moritz Library: Alumni

Alumni Resources

Access to JML
Alternatives

Many of John Moritz Library's resources and services are available to you as an alumnus if you are able to come to the Josie Harper campus. We require verification of alumni status, photo identification, and registration into the library's user database. Alumni privileges are subject to annual renewal for address/phone/email verification.

Off-campus use of databases is not available to alumni due to licensing restrictions.

Services available to alumni who visit the library in person:

Borrowing books (not reserve items)
Using computers for Internet research
Please note: Currently enrolled students are always given priority for scholarly resources as well as devices such as computers, printers, and copy machines.
Please note: All items needed by students, faculty, or staff are subject to recall at any time.

Services NOT available to alumni include:

Interlibrary loan
Access to licensed resources and databases
Borrowing audiovisual materials or equipment
Borrowing laptop computers

Alumni do not have credentials to log into campus computers. See library staff member for computer access and/or printing.

JML's license agreements with vendors and publishers prohibit off-campus access to alumni. However, there are other outlets for access to books, databases, and journals.

Investigate the following:

Your employer:

Hospital or medical center - Most have libraries.
Physician's practice - Hospitals for which the practice has admitting privileges might offer library services to the physician's nursing staff.
College or university - Might offer many of the same databases, resources, and services as JML.
Government - Some government agencies have libraries.
Corporate - Some large companies have libraries.

If you do not have library access through your employer:

Use the free resources linked below.
Contact hospital libraries in your area and inquire about library services to community healthcare professionals.
Find a Loansome Doc provider. This service, offered by the National Library of Medicine, enables healthcare professionals to set up agreements with medical libraries to obtain full text copies of journal articles for a fee.
Use your local public library, especially for interlibrary loan services.

Free Databases

These databases are free to the public.

PubMed Central
U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Access to the material in PMC is free, but use of the material is subject to copyright. Currency of material in PMC varies by journal. Many journals make their content available in PMC as soon as it is published. Others may delay release of content for anywhere from a few months to more than a year after publication.
PubMed Tutorial
A Web-based learning program that demonstrates how to search PubMed, the National Library of Medicine's database of the world's biomedical literature.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. Contains some full text.

ERIC Help and Tutorials
Video link
Searching tips
Google Scholar
Search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites.
TOXNET
Provided by NLM. A starting point for finding reliable information on toxicology, hazardous materials, environmental health, and toxic releases.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search interface for the MEDLINE database.

Free Drug Information Resources

DailyMed
Provides information from FDA-approved package inserts and new information from the FDA.
Drug Information Portal
Quick access to quality drug information. National Library of Medicine.
Drugs.com
A-to-Z drug list; drugs by condition; pill identifier; and more. Advertising enables drugs.com to remain free of charge, but the drug monographs on the site are from Micromedex, Facts & Comparisons, and the FDA.
Medscape
Free but registration is required.
Orange Book
FDA-approved drug products with therapeutic equivalence evaluations. Search by active ingredient, proprietary name, patent, applicant holder, or application number. Includes a current listing of approved generic products.
Pillbox
The National Library of Medicine in partnership with the Food and Drug Administration is beta testing Pillbox, a reference system for tablet and capsule medications. The site currently contains 5,693 records - 779 of which have images.
RxList
Includes pill identifier. Unique feature: top 200 drugs prescribed in U.S. based on number of prescriptions dispensed.

Free Online Journals

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
200+ open access, peer reviewed journals in medicine and the life sciences.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including health sciences.
Free Medical Journals
2000+ free medical journals.
HighWire Press
Online publisher with links to 49 completely free sites; 282 sites with free back issues; 1200+ sites with pay per view; and varying numbers of free trial periods.
PLoS|One Clinical Trials
A collection of PLoS articles related to clinical trials, including articles published in PLoS ONE as well as articles from other PLoS journals.
PLoS Medicine
A peer reviewed open access journal published by the Public Library of Science.

Free eBooks

Disease Management (Cleveland Clinic)
An online medical reference, designed to provide nationally established treatment guidelines for the most commonly seen diseases and conditions. From the Cleveland Clinic Center for Continuing Education.
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Online version of the Merck Manual for medical professionals.
The Merck Manual of Geriatrics
Topics in geriatrics for the health care professional.
The Merck Manual of Medical Information–Home Edition
Plain language version of The Merck Manual.
The Merck Manual of Health & Aging
Information on aging and the care of older people in plain language.
National Academies Press
Publishes the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. Books can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book, while others are available for purchase.
NCBI Bookshelf
Free access to 700+ texts in the life sciences and healthcare.
Patient Safety and Quality: An Evidence-Based Handbook for Nurses
AHRQ (with additional funding from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation) has prepared this comprehensive, 1,400-page, handbook for nurses on patient safety and quality.
Google Books - Medical/Nursing
Full text books hosted on Google Books. Includes many historical titles as well as books published by organizations such as WHO and the Institute of Medicine. Refine your search by using the Advanced Book Search mode.