Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDD - Doctorate Healthcare Education & Leadership

Welcome

Welcome to John Moritz Library!

The library serves all NMC students, faculty, and staff as well as NMHS employees and medical staff. This guide is specifically create for DNP students.

Contact Information

  • Main Library - (402) 354-7251 - library@methodistcollege.edu

Reference Help

We are happy to assist students in finding articles, books, and other sources for their assignments. While we will help you fine-tune your searches, we will not choose a topic and articles for you. We will be happy to answer APA questions and proofread citations, though we will not create your works cited list for you. Reference help is available in-person, by phone (402) 354-7251, or email library@methodistcollege.edu. 

Or schedule a virtual session on Calendly: calendly.com/nmclibrary 

Interlibrary Loan

When an article or book are not available in our collection, you may fill out an interlibrary loan request. We will try to find a copy through a free-lending library. On the rare occasion there is no free option, we will ask if you want to pay the fee or offer to find you an alternative source. Article requests usually arrive anywhere from 1-3 days; book requests may take up to 2 weeks.

Writing Support

Graduate students can complete Writing Assistance Request Form to request an appointment with writing coach. Please visit the Writing Across the Curriculum (WAC) tab on MyMethodist for additional campus resources. 

Borrowing Privileges:

Students, faculty, staff, and alumni of Nebraska Methodist College (NMC) and affiliated staff and employees of Methodist Health System (MHS) have borrowing privileges at John Moritz Library (JML). Off-campus use of databases are available to NMC students, faculty, and staff and NMHS employees. 

Limits:

No more than three issues of a journal can be borrowed at the same time.

Overdue Items:

We do no collect fines on overdue items; however, you may not check out or renew other items until overdue items have been returned. 

Replacement Fees:

Every borrower is responsible for library materials checked out in his/her name. Borrowers are billed replacement costs for lost, damaged, or unreturned items to the library plus a $10 processing fee. Bills are sent approximately 90 days after an item is due. The NMC Business Office is notified of outstanding bills and a block will be placed on a students account.

Recall:

All checked out resources are subject to recall after the initial loan period. Items needed for course reserves or clinical support are subject to recall at any time.

Loan Periods & Renewals:

Format

Checkout Period

Renewal

Books

2 weeks

 One 2-week renewal

Equipment

4 hours

 No renewal

Course reserves

2 hours

 No renewal

Journals

Library use only

 n/a

Reference books

Library use only

 n/a

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Databases/Find Articles

Most JML resources are located online in 30+ databases. Below is a short list of your most important databases.

Education
  • ERIC - Education database with full text peer-reviewed, conference proceedings, and research reports
  • Academic Search Elite - Covers a broad specturm of topics from education to business to health
Business/Leadership
Nursing & Allied Health
  • CINAHL Complete - Covers all aspects of nursing and allied health disciplines with substantial full text content.
  • COCHRANE Systematic Reviews - Protocols and reviews. Remember to log out when done.
  • Health Business Elite - Management side of healthcare, full-text articles
  • MEDLINE Complete - National Library of Medicine's definitive research tool for medical literature, for biomedical research, life sciences, pharmacy, health services and administration, and other fields as they relate to medicine and healthcare.
  • ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health -  Index topics related to nursing and allied health. 
 

Authentication

You will be prompted to enter your NMC credentials when accessing resources from a non-Methodist computer.

Books

Search for print and electronic books via our catalog.

ILL icon

What is Interlibrary Loan?  Interlibrary Loan or ILL is the process by which our library obtains materials from other libraries when we do not own or have access to a book or journal.   Many of the databases have request forms for ILL when there is not a full-text link or PDF provided.

How much does this service cost?   In most cases we are able to borrow from free lenders so there is no charge for this service. If we are unable to find a free lending library, you will be notified before we submit a  request where fees may be incurred

When do I get the material? The turn-around is usually only a day or two; however, some requests can take considerably longer to fill and some materials are not available.  If you need an article sooner, please call the library to make your request.

  * ILL department is open Monday-Friday 8am-4:30pm (402) 354-7248 

  * Requested articles will be sent as PDF attachments to your NMC e-mail.

Other Guides